Ballinkillin or Ballinkillen (Baile an Chillín, meaning “settlement of the cillín”) is a small village between Borris and Muine Bheag.
The picturesque village of Ballinkillen, nestled under the shadow of Mount Leinster. Ballinkillen is located approximately 8km south of Bagenalstown. The town has many historical features to portray.
Ballinkillen National School is one of Ireland’s oldest continuously operating schools and is among the historical structures in this town. This was constructed in 1810 at the request of Reverend Michael Prendergast.
A monument dedicated to Fr. John who had been mortally wounded from being dragged off his horse in 1835 is close by. A Celtic cross of limestone with a wrought iron railing was situated near to where his body was discovered.
To commemorate his parents Cardinal Patrick Francis Moran erected a massive copy of a 19th century high cross in the churchyard.
Ballinkillen Gaelic Athletic Association is a Gaelic Athletic Association club based in Ballinkillen. The club has featured Gaelic football teams since 1890 but the focus has shifted to hurling since a reorganisation in 1957.
Things to See & Do in Ballinkillen
St. Lazerians Church: the Church in Ballinkillin is dedicated to St. Lazerian and has a stained-glass window designed by the renowned William of Youghal. There are four other stained-glass windows in honour of Christ, Our Lady, St. Joseph and St. Patrick This church was built around 1793 by Fr. Michael Brophy and is one of the oldest churches in the area.
Lorum Church: the Church is located just 1.5 miles from Ballinkillin. Dedicated as the Church of the Good Shepherd by Bishop Neal in 2001, there is a large burial ground behind the church and an ancient chapel ruin nearby. Some of the headstones date back to 1730 and there is also the remains of a High Cross nearby.
The local GAA club based in the village of Ballinkillin was founded in 1890 and while the club has fielded football teams as far back as 1890, the club has been a hurling stronghold for over half a century. The club colours are blue and gold.
Ballinkillen Lourdes Grotto
The Lourdes Grotto was officially opened in October 1998. The site, known as “The Grove”, was donated along with the statues. The grotto was built with local granite stone and by voluntary labour.
Ballinkillen Lorum Community Centre Club
Ballinkillen Lorum Community Centre was built as a response to the needs of the local community and opened its doors on 1st November 1979. A central location for a diverse group of people, it is often used for various sporting activities, bingo nights, movie nights and quiz nights. It was constructed as a piece of community outreach and raised the necessary funds through the generosity of local residents of all ages.
There are a variety of activities in the area which include: mountain and hill walking, fishing, swimming, sightseeing, golfing, visiting historic castles at Ballyloughan and Ballymoon or the Blessed Well at Killoughternane.
People of Interest
Theresa Malone, the heroine of 1798 is buried in Ballinkillen and a plaque was erected in her memory in 1998. Theresa lived for 90 years and was buried in Ballinkillen Graveyard. It is believed she died at the time of the Fenian Rising in 1868. Her funeral caused quite a stir at the time as the authorities were afraid that the funeral of the 1798 veteran would be used as a platform to arouse republican fervour.
No Results Found
The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.